Who owns the moon.

0b91c-startrekenterpriseterranempireflagonthemoon2005700thepisode
I don’t even know what country this is, but I am PRETTY SURE that they do not own the moon

Travish: Who owns the moon.

County Reference Liberrian: Hello, welcome to Ask a Librarian. I am [Censored] and I will be assisting you today. Please wait a moment while I consider your question…

CRL: I’m going to send you an article addressing your question…
The librarian is sending you to http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2009/07/090717-who-owns-moon-real-estate.html.

CRL: In short, no, the US does not own the moon.

CRL: The moon is unclaimable under the 1967 Outer Space Treaty, which has so far been ratified by 100 UN member countries, including the United States.

TRAVISH: how can i get a copy of the Moon Agreement?

TRAVISH: (the treaty from 1979)

CRL: Let me see if I can find it online…

TRAVISH: i thought the usa would own the moon. so, if no one owns the moon, are there laws on the moon? (this is why i MUST read the Moon Agreement)

CRL: It is available online. I can send the document to open in your browser…
The librarian is sending you to http://cil.nus.edu.sg/rp/il/pdf/1979%20Agreement%20Governing%20the%20Activities%20of%20States%20on%20the%20Moon%20and%20Other%20Celestial%20Bodies-pdf.pdf.

TRAVISH: i think this guy Dennis Hope is a LUNARtic

CRL: haha, I think I read a science fiction novel about those folks. Anything else I can help you with?

TRAVISH: it says:

TRAVISH: States Parties shall not place in orbit around or other trajectory to or around the moon
objects carrying nuclear weapons or any other kinds of weapons of mass destruction or place or
use such weapons on or in the moon.

TRAVISH: but it means all celestial bodies, right?

CRL: I believe so. In 1979 we didn’t have quite as much access to other celestial bodies. I’m no lawyer, however.

TRAVISH: i was just thinking of superman iv: the quest for peace when Superman threw all those nuclear bombs into the sun to destroy them. he was breaking the moon agreement.

CRL: I’m afraid I didn’t see that movie. Is there anything else I can assist you with today?

TRAVISH: it was not very good. i would still recommend it, though. mostly i would recommend OVER THE TOP. THAT is my FAVORITE movie. i better go. i am going to be late for weightlifting.

CRL: Thank you for using our service. Have a great workout.

Travish’s Commentary:

OVER THE TOP is a WAY better movie than superman iv (four) [4]: the quest for peace

Leave a Reply

